skip to main content | screen reader access
font size:  Decrease font Size Normal Font Size Increase Font Size Standard Contrast High Contrast
Rajya Sabha
You are here: [Home ] >Media Advisory Committee of Rajya Sabha

Media Advisory Committee of Rajya Sabha

The Media Advisory Committee of Rajya Sabha is constituted by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha. It consists of representatives of various media organizations accredited to the Press Gallery of Rajya Sabha. The first Media Advisory Committee was constituted on 18 March 2008 and consisted of 11 members. The second Committee was constituted on 27 May 2009 and consisted of 15 members. The third Committee was constituted on 19 July 2010 and consisted of 14 members. The fourth Committee was constituted on 2 August 2011 and consisted of 15 members.The fifth Committee was constituted on 20 November 2012 and consisted of 15 members. The Committee has been reconstituted w.e.f. 08 July 2014 and consists of the following 15 members:


Ms.Neerja Chowdhury (Long and Distinguished Service)


Shri Venkat Parsa (Freelance)


Shri Anant Bagaitkar (Sakaal)


Ms. Santwana Bhattacharya (The New Indian Express)


Shri Sandeep Sonwalkar (India TV)


Ms. Meetu Jain (Times Now)


Shri Pranab Dhal Samanta (The Indian Express)


Shri Sandeep Dikshit ( The Hindu)


Shri Madan Mohan Jaira (Hindustan)


Shri Imteyazuddin (Siyasi Ufuque)


Shri Nigamananda Prusty (Dharitri)


Shri Kalyan Barooah (The Assam Tribune)


Shri Jagjit Singh Dardi(Chardhi Kala)


Shri M. Chenna Nagraj(UNI)


Shri Anand Mishra (PTI)

The office bearers of the Committee are also appointed from among its members by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha. Accordingly, the Chairman, Rajya Sabha has appointed Ms.Neerja Chowdhury as the Chairperson, Shri Venkat Parsa as the Vice-Chairperson, Shri Anant Bagaitkar as the Secretary and Ms. Santwana Bhattacharya as the Joint Secretary of the Committee.


The term of the Committee is one year. It may, however, be dissolved earlier by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha and re-constituted de novo.


The primary function of the Committee is to render advice to the Rajya Sabha Secretariat regarding admission of various media organizations to the Press Gallery of Rajya Sabha to enable them to cover the proceedings of the House.

Back to Top