Parliamentary Bulletin Part-II  
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Legislative Section

Arrest of Shri R.S. Bharathi, Member, Rajya Sabha



The following communication dated the 23rd May, 2020,  addressed to Hon'ble Chairman, Rajya Sabha, has been received from Commissioner of Police, Greater Chennai Police, Vepery, Chennai:-


"I have the honour to inform that Shri R.S. Bharathi, xxx xxx,  M.P., Rajya Sabha of DMK Party was arrested at his residence, No.16/8, 29th Street, Thillai Ganga Nagar, Nanganallur, Chennai, at 0540 hrs. today (23.05.2020).

2.             Mr. S.T. Kalyanasundaram, President, Athi Thamizhar Makkal Katchi, No.1/8A Maanagaratchi Kudiyiruppu, Avaniyapuram, Madurai – 12, lodged a complaint at E-3 Teynampet P.S. on 12.03.2020 stating that he attended the event “Kalaignar Vassagar Vattaram” xxxx xxx xxxx at Anbagam, Anna Arangam, Teynampet on 15.02.2020 xxx xxx.  In that event, Shri Bharathi, M.P., DMK, while addressing the gathering (xxxx xxxx xxxx) had uttered disparaging remarks over the people of oppressed class xxxx xxx xxxx.  Based on this complaint, a case in E-3 Teynampet PS Cr.No.119/2020 u/s 3(1)(u) and 3(1)(v) of SC&ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act, 1989 was registered on 12.03.2020.



3.             Later, the investigation of the above case was transferred to Central Crime Branch, Greater Chennai Police and accordingly a case registered again in CCB-I Crime No. 214/2020 u/s 3(1)(u) and 3(1)(v) of SC&ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act, 1989 on 22.05.2020.

4.             Shri R.S. Bharathi, M.P. was produced before the Hon’ble Principal Sessions Judge at this residence in Egmore today (23.05.2020) at 0830 hrs. who remanded him upto 06.06.2020. Subsequently, the Hon’ble Judge granted interim bail to Shri R.S. Bharathi, M.P. upto 31.05.2020 with the condition to report before Hon’ble High Court of Madras on 01.06.2020.

xxxx xxx xxxx   .”

Table Office

Biennial Elections to the Rajya Sabha, 2020


Notification dated the 2nd June, 2020 issued by the Ministry of Law and Justice (Legislative Department) is reproduced below for information of Members:-



                S.O. (E). - In pursuance of section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the President is pleased to call upon the elected Members of the Legislative Assembly of each State specified in column (2) of the table below, to elect, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, the numbers of member(s) specified against each State in column (3) of the said table, for the purpose of filling the seat(s) of the member(s) of the Council of States whose term of office is due to expire on the date mentioned in the corresponding entry in column (4) of the said table, on the expiration of their term of office:—




Name of State


No. of seats to be filled


Date of retirement



Arunachal Pradesh













                                                                                       (Dr. Reeta Vasishta)

Additional Secretary to the Government of India

                                                                          [F.No. H.11024/1/2020-Leg.II]"                                 








                Members are informed that the Election Commission of India vide their Notification No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2020(1) dated the 2nd June, 2020, have fixed the following programme for the Biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha in the States of Arunachal Pradesh, Karnataka and Mizoram:—



Last date for making nominations

9th of June, 2020



Date for the scrutiny of the nominations

10th of June, 2020 (Wednesday)


Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures

12th of June, 2020 (Friday)


Date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken

19th of June, 2020



Date before which election shall be completed

22nd of June, 2020 (Monday)




Desh Deepak Verma